#AuxSons is a collaborative, militant and solidary web media
songhoybluesatmorgan-12 - Aliou Toure, lead singer of Songhoy Blues: “Mogoya has disappeared and the love of power has eclipsed the power of love” © Andy Morgan

Mogoya (episode 2)

Read epi­sode 1.

Rap­per Ami Yere­wo­lo, a para­digm of outs­po­ken­ness, agrees : “Like eve­ry­thing in a socie­ty, mogoya has its strengths and its weak­nesses. Its strength is that when you have a pro­blem, the whole fami­ly is with you. We sleep toge­ther, eat toge­ther, talk toge­ther. But it also has its hypo­cri­ti­cal side. People are vul­ne­rable, there are no jobs, nothing to do, so the only occu­pa­tion they can find to dis­tract them­selves is to hurt each other, to hate each other, to find some­thing with which to des­troy the other.”

Ami Yere­wo­lo – Lyam­ba

 

Behind the decade of tur­moil that Malians have suf­fe­red and the coup d’état that ous­ted Karim Keita’s father, Pre­sident Ibra­him Bou­ba­car Kei­ta on August 18th, is a deep sense that some­thing essen­tial to the Malian cha­rac­ter is being des­troyed by greed, cor­rup­tion and the dazzle of money. “If there are all these pro­blems today,” says Aliou Toure, lead sin­ger of Son­ghoy Blues, “it’s because mogoya has disap­pea­red and the love of power has eclip­sed the power of love. There was a time when we were real­ly hap­py here in Mali with the lit­tle we had, because we were at peace, we were safe and life was beau­ti­ful. People are begin­ning to rea­lize their mistake.”

 

Son­ghoy Blues – Wor­ry

 

Bou­ra­ma Sou­ma­no, here­di­ta­ry chief of the griots of Bama­ko, blames this fall from grace on the fact that no one lis­tens to the griots any­more. “The griot’s role in the trans­mis­sion of mogoya from one gene­ra­tion to ano­ther is indis­pen­sable,” he says. “Malian socie­ty has unders­tood that it was wrong to want to dele­gate that role to modern com­mu­ni­ca­tors such as jour­na­lists, TV pre­sen­ters, people on the inter­net. The griots haven’t taught the new gene­ra­tion what it should have taught them.”

Ano­ther griot, famous on the inter­na­tio­nal music scene, even went so far as to blame reli­gion, by which he meant Islam, for the slow death of mogoya. “Sila­meya (Islam-ness), that’s what’s des­troying eve­ry­thing,” he says.Reli­gion arri­ved here only to find that we alrea­dy had mogoya. It was even more ups­tan­ding than their reli­gion. Now they’ve built lots of mosques, but there’s no more mogoya. We were hap­py before reli­gion. We were doing fine.”

The demise of mogoya, a ‘human-cen­tred’ phi­lo­so­phy, has been at the heart of Mali’s inter­nal moral debate for decades. Now that debate is increa­sin­gly cou­ched in Isla­mic, ‘God-cen­te­red’ terms. The immense popu­la­ri­ty of cha­ris­ma­tic imams such as Mah­moud Dicko, de-fac­to lea­der of the oppo­si­tion M5 move­ment, sug­gests that Malians are see­king a sanc­ti­fied and righ­teous anti­dote to the moral ban­krupt­cy of the cur­rent poli­ti­cal class. But what form should righ­teous­ness take ?  Stron­ger reli­gious devo­tion ? Or more mogoya ? Or both ?

Per­haps, in an age of capi­ta­lism and consu­me­rism, mogoya is an impos­sible dream. Per­haps it only ever exis­ted when eve­ryone – kings, nobles, war­riors, mer­chants, griots, crafts­men, slaves – knew their place, and when women stayed at home to edu­cate their chil­dren 24/7 (as was asser­ted by a griot during one of my inter­views). Per­haps, as Ivo­rian wri­ter Ama­dou Koné sug­gests, it’s time for a new mogoya, one embo­died in a few enligh­te­ned indi­vi­duals like N’Douba, hero of Koné’s novel Les Res­pects des Morts (1992) who declares : ‘The black man of tomor­row is made not by he who adheres des­pe­ra­te­ly to the past, nor by he that Europe has lead astray by dazz­ling him, but sim­ply by the one who is suf­fi­cient­ly lucid to advance towards Europe whil­st remai­ning himself.’

Oumou San­gare thinks that Afri­ca can save its mogoya by emu­la­ting Japan. “Japan is the most modern coun­try in the world, agreed ? Japan is also the most tra­di­tio­nal coun­try in the world, agreed ? Afri­ca can evolve, whil­st pre­ser­ving cer­tain tra­di­tions that are worth pre­ser­ving. I real­ly want Afri­ca to become like that. And it’s doable.”

 

 

Andy Morgan

 

Andy Morgan is a writer and photographer based in Bristol, UK. He worked for 30 years in music ending up as manager of Tinariwen. In 2010 he turned to writing and photography full time, contributing articles to The Guardian, The Independent, Songlines and many other publications. He has also appeared on the BBC, Al Jazeera and CBC. His first book, Music, Culture and Conflict in Mali (Freemuse Publications), was published in May 2013.  Andy’s photography has appeared in Songlines, Condé Nast Traveller and other publications, and on the front cover of CDs by Songhoy Blues, Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita and Gwyneth Glyn. In 2017 Andy curated an exhibition of global music photography at The Royal Albert Hall in London, to which he contributed a number of images.

Please choose how you want to receive news from our online media platform #AuxSons by Zone Franche
You can use the unsubscribe link included in the newsletter at any time. Learn more about managing your data and your rights.

#AuxSons est un webmedia collaboratif, militant et solidaire
Aliou Toure, lead singer of Songhoy Blues: “Mogoya has disappeared and the love of power has eclipsed the power of love” - © Andy Morgan

Mogoya (épisode 2)

Lire l’é­pi­sode 1.

La rap­peuse Ami Yèrè­wo­lo, un para­digme du franc-par­ler, en convient : « Comme tout dans une socié­té, la mogoya a ses forces et ses fai­blesses. Sa force : quand vous avez un pro­blème, toute la famille est avec vous. On dort ensemble, on mange ensemble et on parle. Mais il y a un côté hypo­crite à tout ça. Les gens sont vul­né­rables, il n’y a pas de tra­vail, rien à faire, donc la seule occu­pa­tion qu’ils peuvent trou­ver pour se dis­traire est de se bles­ser, se haïr, et trou­ver quelque chose avec lequel se détruire. »

Ami Yere­wo­lo – Lyam­ba

 

Der­rière la décen­nie de troubles que les Maliens ont subis et le coup d’É­tat qui a ren­ver­sé le père de Karim Keï­ta, le pré­sident Ibra­him Bou­ba­car Keï­ta le 18 août, il y a le sen­ti­ment pro­fond que quelque chose d’es­sen­tiel au carac­tère malien est sur le point d’être bri­sé par la cupi­di­té, la cor­rup­tion et l’a­veu­gle­ment cau­sé par l’argent. « S’il y a tous ces pro­blèmes aujourd’­hui », déclare Aliou Tou­ré, chan­teur prin­ci­pal du groupe Son­ghoy Blues, « c’est parce que la mogoya a dis­pa­ru et que l’a­mour du pou­voir a éclip­sé le pou­voir de l’a­mour. Il fut un temps où nous étions vrai­ment heu­reux ici au Mali avec le peu que nous avions, parce que nous étions en paix, nous étions en sécu­ri­té et la vie était belle. Les gens com­mencent à réa­li­ser leur erreur. »

 

Son­ghoy Blues – Wor­ry

 

Bou­ra­ma Sou­ma­no, chef héré­di­taire des griots de Bama­ko, attri­bue cette chute en dis­grâce au fait que plus per­sonne n’é­coute les griots. « Le rôle du griot dans la trans­mis­sion de la mogoya d’une géné­ra­tion à l’autre est indis­pen­sable », déclare-t-il. « La socié­té malienne a com­pris que c’é­tait une erreur de vou­loir relé­guer ce rôle aux com­mu­ni­ca­teurs modernes, tels que les pré­sen­ta­teurs télé ou les influen­ceurs sur Inter­net. La nou­velle géné­ra­tion n’a pas béné­fi­cié de l’en­sei­gne­ment des griots comme elle aurait dû. »

Un autre griot, recon­nu sur la scène musi­cale inter­na­tio­nale, est même allé jus­qu’à accu­ser la reli­gion, sous-enten­du l’Islam, de la lente mort de la mogoya.

« Sila­meya (l’islamisme), c’est ce qui a tout détruit », dit-il. « La reli­gion est arri­vée ici seule­ment pour consta­ter que nous pos­sé­dions déjà la mogoya. C’é­tait encore plus hono­rable que leur reli­gion. Aujourd’­hui, ils ont construit de nom­breuses mos­quées, mais il n’y a plus de mogoya. On était heu­reux avant qu’elle n’ar­rive. On s’en sor­tait très bien sans elle. »

La dis­pa­ri­tion de la mogoya, cette phi­lo­so­phie « cen­trée sur l’homme », est au cœur du débat moral interne au Mali depuis des décen­nies. Aujourd’­hui, ce débat est de plus en plus for­mu­lé en termes isla­miques, « cen­trés sur Dieu ». L’im­mense popu­la­ri­té de cer­tains imams cha­ris­ma­tiques tels que Mah­moud Dicko, lea­der de fac­to du mou­ve­ment d’op­po­si­tion M5, sug­gère que les Maliens recherchent un anti­dote sanc­ti­fié et juste à la faillite morale de la classe poli­tique actuelle. Mais quelle forme la jus­tice doit-elle prendre ? La forme d’une plus forte dévo­tion reli­gieuse ? Ou de davan­tage de mogoya ? Ou des deux ?

Peut-être qu’à l’ère du capi­ta­lisme et du consu­mé­risme, la mogoya est un rêve impos­sible. Peut-être n’a-t-elle jamais exis­té que lorsque tout le monde – rois, nobles, guer­riers, mar­chands, griots, arti­sans, esclaves – connais­sait sa place, et lorsque les femmes res­taient à la mai­son pour édu­quer leurs enfants 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7 (comme l’a affir­mé un griot lors de mes entre­tiens). Peut-être, comme le sug­gère l’é­cri­vain ivoi­rien Ama­dou Koné, est-il temps pour une nou­velle mogoya, incar­née par quelques indi­vi­dus éclai­rés comme N’Douba, héros du roman de Koné, Le Res­pect des morts (1992), qui déclare : « L’homme noir de demain se fait non pas par celui qui adhère déses­pé­ré­ment au pas­sé, ou celui que l’Europe a éga­ré en l’éblouissant, mais sim­ple­ment par celui qui est suf­fi­sam­ment lucide pour avan­cer vers l’Europe tout en res­tant lui-même. »

Oumou San­ga­ré pense que l’A­frique peut sau­ver son mogoya en imi­tant le Japon. « Le Japon est le pays le plus moderne du monde, n’est-ce pas ? Le Japon est aus­si le pays le plus ancré dans la tra­di­tion au monde, n’est-ce pas ? L’A­frique peut évo­luer tout en pré­ser­vant cer­taines tra­di­tions qui en valent la peine. Je vou­drais vrai­ment que l’A­frique devienne comme ça. Et c’est fai­sable. »

 

Dans la Play­list de Son­ghoy Blues, Aliou, Oumar et Gar­ba Tou­ré de Son­ghoy Blues nous pré­sentent les mor­ceaux qui leur ins­pirent le sen­ti­ment d’humanité, propre aux prin­cipes de Mogoya.

 

 

Andy Morgan

 

Basé à Bristol au Royaume-Uni, Andy Morgan est auteur et photographe. Il a travaillé dans la music pendant 30 ans, devenant manager de Tinariwen. En 2010 il se tourne vers l'écriture et la photographie à plein temps, rédigeant des articles pour The Guardian, The Independent, Songlines et bien d'autres publications. Il apparaît aussi sut la BBC, Al Jazeera et CBC. Son premier livre, Musique, Culture et Conflit au Mali (Freemuse Publications) sort en mai 2013. Les photos d'Andy sont apparues dans Songlines, Condé Nast Travaller, d'autres publications et sur les pochettes d'album de Songhoy Blues, Catrin Finch & Secko Keira et Gwyneth Glyn. En 2017 Andy est le commissaire d'une exposition photo dédiée à la musique de part le monde, au Royal Albert Hall de Londres, dans laquelle il expose aussi ses clichés.

 

Veuillez choisir comment vous souhaitez avoir des nouvelles du webmédia #AuxSons par Zone Franche:
Vous pouvez à tout moment utiliser le lien de désabonnement intégré dans la newsletter.
En savoir plus sur la gestion de vos données et vos droits.